Short Stories

Books like Olive Kitteridge

Olive Kitteridge

2008, Elizabeth Strout


Olive Kitteridge is a 2008 novel by American author Elizabeth Strout. The novel provides a portrait of the title character and a number of recurring characters in the coastal town of Crosby, Maine. It takes the form of 13 short stories that are interrelated but discontinuous in terms of narrative.

It won the 2009 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and was a finalist for the 2008 National Book Critics Circle Award. HBO produced a four-part miniseries based on the novel featuring Frances McDormand in the title role, which aired on November 2 and 3, 2014. The series won eight awards at the 2015 Primetime Emmys. A sequel to the novel, titled Olive, Again, was published on October 15, 2019 by Random House.

Similar Books

If you like Olive Kitteridge, you might also like: The Marriage Plot, Breakfast with Buddha, and Nobody's Fool