Young Adult

Books like Emlyn's Moon

Emlyn's Moon

2007, Jenny Nimmo

The Magician Trilogy is a series of three children's fantasy novels by the British author Jenny Nimmo, first published by Methuen 1986 to 1989. It is sometimes called the Snow Spider trilogy or series after the first book and The Snow Spider Trilogy is the title of its omnibus editions (1991 and later). The stories are inspired by Welsh mythology, with elements borrowed from Mabinogion. Set in contemporary Wales, they feature Gwyn Griffiths, a boy descended from Gwydion who discovers and develops some of the magical power in his lineage.

The Snow Spider won the Tir na n-Og Award from the Welsh Books Council, recognising the year's best English-language children's book with an authentic Welsh background, and won the second annual Smarties Prize as the year's best children's book written by a United Kingdom citizen or resident.

Similar Books

If you like Emlyn's Moon, you might also like: The Wizard Test, The Children of the Red King, Books 1-5: Midnight for Charlie Bone, Charlie Bone and the Time Twister, Charlie Bone and the Invi, and The Fall of the Templar