Dislike 43
Save 165
Meh 70

The Last Kingdom is a British historical fiction television series based on Bernard Cornwell's The Saxon Stories series of novels. The first series of eight episodes premiered on 10 October 2015 on BBC America, and on BBC Two in the UK on 22 October 2015. A second series of eight episodes, co-produced by Netflix after the exit of BBC America, began airing on BBC Two in the UK in March 2017. In April 2018 it was reported that Netflix was in production of a third season, exclusively to air on the streaming service in 2018.

The series is set in the late 9th century AD, when England is divided into seven separate kingdoms. The Anglo-Saxon lands are gradually attacked, plundered, and effectively ruled by Viking Danes in many areas. The Kingdom of Wessex remains the last major stronghold against the Danes.

Read more