Meh 8
Dislike 8
Save 6

The Orwells


The Orwells were an American rock band from Elmhurst, a suburb west of Chicago. The members included Mario Cuomo (vocals), Dominic Corso (guitar), Matt O'Keefe (guitar), Grant Brinner (bass), and Henry Brinner (drums). Their debut album Remember When was released in August 2012. Their first EP, Other Voices, was released in June 2013, followed by Who Needs You in September 2013.

The Orwells formed when all the members attended York High School in Elmhurst, Illinois. The band was discovered in late 2011 by Aquarium Drunkard blogger Justin Gage, who signed them to his Autumn Tone label imprint. They graduated high school early in 2013 to pursue their musical career.

The Orwells were named as one of the overlooked artists of 2012 in MTV's annual list. Their single "Mallrats (La La La)" was also reviewed by music website Pitchfork. They performed at Lollapalooza in August 2013. On November 5, 2013, The Orwells appeared on Later... with Jools Holland. On November 22, 2013, Arctic Monkeys announced that The Orwells would be their support at nine American concerts in January and February 2014.

Read more