Dislike 10
Save 53
Meh 13

No Country for Old Men is a 2005 novel by American author Cormac McCarthy who originally wrote the story as a screenplay. The story occurs in the vicinity of the United States–Mexico border in 1980 and concerns an illegal drug deal gone awry in the Texas desert back country.

The title of the novel derives from the first line of the 1926 poem "Sailing to Byzantium" by W. B. Yeats. Originally written as a screenplay, the book has a simple writing style different from other Cormac McCarthy novels.

The book was adapted into the 2007 movie No Country for Old Men which won four Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

(What follows is the plot of the novel, not the film). The plot follows the interweaving paths of the three central characters (Llewelyn Moss, Anton Chigurh, and Ed Tom Bell) set in motion by events related to a drug deal gone bad near the Mexican–American border in remote Terrell County in southwest Texas.

Read more

People who like No Country For Old Men